| 3.q° 5011 | Saturday, June |
|--|-----------------------------|
| Curfew – All participants in assigned rooms | thginbiM |
| Students must be in Residence Halls | M9 00:11 |
| Refreshments will be served. | |
| (Karaoke) – Johnson Commons (Tent Outside). | |
| ARML Team Song Contest and Student Reception | MA 05:6 |
| ".8nit99M 'zvot20 M w9 $^{N''}$ 9ht ot zvot20 $^{\gamma}$ | |
| 9mit tevit visht to lla bna "gnitssM 'eshcaco" | |
| *Each team is required to send one coach to the | |
| Forest Resources Building Room 107 | |
| New Proctors' Meeting – (For First Time Proctors) | MA21:9 – 21:8 |
| Forest Resources Building Room 112 | |
| Coaches' Meeting – | M905:9-00:8 |
| Sarah-Marie Belcastro Location: Thomas 101 | |
| "Counting Across Dimensions At Least Twice" | MA 21:6-00:8 |
| (əbistuO | |
| Registration ~ Findlay-Johnson Commons (Tent | IsvirnA nO |
| , 2017 | Friday June 2 nd |

| Awards Assembly – Pegula Ice Arena | 3:00 - 4:30 PM |
|---|-----------------|
| Individual Tie Breaker – Pegula Ice Arena | 2:20 - 2:40 FM |
| Relay Questions – Pegula Ice Arena | 1:45 – 2:20 PM |
| Box Lunch – Pegula Ice Arena | 12:00 – 1:30 PM |
| Individual Questions – Pegula Ice Arena | MA 05:11-00:01 |
| Power Question – Assigned Rooms | MA 22:9 – 22:8 |
| 2. 2. 2. 2. 2. 2. 2. 2. 2. 2. 2. 2. 2. 2 | MA 02:8 – 00:8 |
| Breakfast – Bryce Jordan Center – Gate A | MA 05:7-00:8 |

Awards Program

- Individual High Scorers of the Meet
- Song Contest Winner Performance (If time permits)
- Harry and Ruth Ruderman Award for the ARML Power Contest
- Awards for ARML Local Contest 4[.] 3[.] 1[.]
- The Alfred Kalfus Founder's Award
- The Samuel Greitzer Distinguished Coach Award
- The Douglas Baker Memorial Award ۲. 6. 5.
- Division B: 7^{th} through 1^{st} place (D. E. Shaw group plaque) .8
- Division A: 9^{th} through 1^{st} place (D. E. Shaw group plaque) .6

THE AMERICAN REGIONS MATHEMATICS LEAGUE



Forty Second Annual Meeting

Pennsylvania State University University of Georgia University of Iowa University of Nevada, Las Vegas June 2nd – June 3rd, 2017

Sponsor:

DE Shaw& Co

Executive Board Officers

President Executive Director Vice President Secretary Treasurer Paul Dreyer Michael Curry George Reuter Anchala Sobrin Linda Berman

Executive Board Members

Director of Technology Director of Power Contest IRML Co-Chair IRML Co-Chair Barbara Chao Micah Fogel Don Barry Quan Lam

Site Chairpersons

Pennsylvania State University University of Iowa University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Georgia Jason Mutford Steve Condie Matthew Schneider Don Slater

Scoring Room Chairpersons

Pennsylvania State University University of Iowa University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Georgia Martin Badoian\Kevin Meyers Neva Metcalf Ryan Martin & Barbara Chao Chuck Garner

Authors' Committee

Lead Author: Paul J. Karafiol, Associate Head Writer: George Reuter, Associate Head Writer: Andy Soffer, Lead Editor: Chris Jeuell, Paul Dreyer, Edward Early, Zuming Feng, Benji Fisher, Zachary Franco, Silas Johnson, Winston Luo, Andy Niedermaier, Graham Rosby, Eric Wepsic

Head Grader George Reuter Judge Marty Badoian/Dick Olson

Moderators

John Schneider & George Reuter

ARML would like to thank all of the volunteers, proctors, scorers, and power question graders for your time and effort. ARML could not happen without you. Special thanks to George Reuter, Jason Mutford, Anchala Sobrin, Jessica Duggan, Richard Olson, John Farris, and the staff from Penn State for all of their help in planning and running this event.

ARML would like to thank its supporters:

- http://ams.org https://crowdmark.com/ http://www.lessci.com http://waa.org http://maalphatheta.org http://pme-math.org http://pme-math.org http://press.princeton.edu http://press.princeton.edu http://press.princeton.edu
- American Mathematical Society Crowdmark Design Science Mathematics Association of America Mu Alpha Theta Penguin Group USA Pi Mu Epsilon Princeton University Press Texas Instruments Wolfram Research

About our sponsor, the D. E. Shaw group

The D. E. Shaw group is a global investment and technology development firm with an international reputation for financial innovation and technological leadership. Headquartered in New York, the D. E. Shaw group encompasses a number of closely related entities with more than 1,000 employees and approximately \$32 billion in investment and committed capital. Our activities range from deployment of investment strategies based on mathematical models or human expertise to the acquisition of existing companies and the financing or development of new ones.

The firm employs a disproportionate number of the world's leading computer scientists and mathematicians, many of whom joined the firm directly from leading college and university math and science programs, and a number of whom are former ARML competitors. Given the challenges of its work, the firm has a particular interest in promoting excellence in mathematics. For this reason, the D. E. Shaw group is especially proud of its years-long association with ARML and of its current sponsorship of the national competition.

ARML would like to express special thanks to the D. E. Shaw group for their generous donation and sponsorship of our competition